Chocolate Chip Cookies and Soul

I love to bake. Most specifically, I love to bake chocolate chip cookies.

Chocolate chip cookies are, hands down, my favorite dessert. I get really excited over a good chocolate chip cookie. I love to turn on some music, tie an apron around myself, and get to work in the kitchen.

In these times, I feel a rest in my soul. I dance around my small kitchen space, singing to the music, mixing ingredients, turning on ovens, and delighting in the simplicity of it all. The most satisfying is when the rest of the house is quiet, void of all noise except the bustling of the kitchen. My mind is clear, my heart is light, and I can really begin to unwind from the business of the week.

My soul delights in the simple treasure of cooking and relaxing in a clean home. I have peace as I sit down to eat and read a book or watch my favorite show. I have taken my time doing something, and I feel the investment as I sink into the couch.

Do you ever stop to smell the roses, or in my case, the chocolate chip cookies?

What I mean is, do you take time to do the things that delight your soul? Do you break away from your busy schedule for some much needed down time? If not, aren’t you tired?

We go and we go, efficiently doing what needs to be done in a day, because let’s face it, there’s so much. However, when push comes to shove, if we don’t invest into ourselves, making sure we are rested and feel refreshed and ready, we’ll face burn-out. We think that if we keep on trucking, being everything and doing everything for everyone, we won’t let anyone down. But, what we deserve is to be rested and fully prepared to tackle what comes our way in life.

Here’s a thought: We are more effective and more capable when we take the time to rest and recharge. After a night hanging out with friends, or time spent with a good book and cup of coffee, we feel more energized and rejuvenated.

Take that bike ride. Read that book. Watch that movie with your friends. Do something for yourself, something that refreshes your soul and gives you life for the business to come. The laundry can wait. That email can be sent just fine in a couple hours. Pause, breathe, invest, refresh.

Leave a Reply

