No More Fear

Do you remember when you were small, and you had only seen what your parents had shown you? You barely could remember yesterday, but you had an imagination that stretched past the sky into the heavens. The world was good and there was no wrong. It was just you, your family, and a limitless adventure ahead.

The world is bigger than your backyard.

I’ve just started to realize this. I have traveled minimally, and the little bit I’ve tasted has been incredible. Isn’t it exhilarating to think about how much there is to explore?

When I think about the future and all the world there is to see, a tiny part of me is sad. I’m sad because with knowing the world is so big and so extensive, there comes the realization that not everything is good.

Do you remember when you were small, and you had only seen what your parents had shown you? You barely could remember yesterday, but you had an imagination that stretched past the sky into the heavens. The world was good and there was no wrong. It was just you, your family, and a limitless adventure ahead.

As you’ve grown up, you’ve heard the horror stories of people snatched and never seen again. Or even worse, people being attacked in their one place where safety should reign, their home. Little by little your massive grin fades into a solemn, wise expression.

You have heard the news. You lock your doors. You hold your loved ones close, and you always look behind you in parking lots. The glamour has evaporated, and the reality is what is left.

It’s incredibly easy to be locked up in fear, and to allow your imagination, which at one point had taken you to the moon, to smother you in the gravity of worries.

Is that really all that this big world has? Fear and worry and containment?

I just can’t allow myself to be content with it. There’s no way that I can listen to the horrors of the news and think, “Well, what can we do? The world is big and bad”.

I am not going to stand by and be constantly in fear.

I’m not talking about abandoning wisdom and reason. There is a great need for those things, and they should not be taken lightly. However, when people speak death over my city, my state, my country, I will not nod my head with the masses. I serve a God that is bigger than the powers and principalities at hand.

I will choose to dance in His joy, and I will choose to be still, and know He is God. Though the rest of the world may find me a fool, I will know His truth. I will dance and make myself vulnerable before the Lord as David did, and cast my cares aside.

Right now, the world can be scary place. It is easy to fret and be burdened with the weight of its issues. But the people need to stand and proclaim life. When did we become content to live amongst a graveyard of dry bones?

I will see the world, and I will taste the riches that God has set before me in it. I will see that there is good in it, and if I don’t see it, I will proclaim and actively pursue the light. I am not content with an evil world. But I am ecstatic to see heaven invade.


Dancing as David did, before I thought to be afraid

Leave a Reply

