Little Eyes

…most of the time, I feel like I live such an arbitrary existence that cannot possibly persuade any interest. But in these little eyes… I have influence. And with this influence, I can invest.

I’ve been a big sister to three girls for about eighteen years now. In these eighteen years, I have observed that little sisters are some of the easiest people to influence. Without even registering what I say, I can leave a lasting imprint on a young and moldable mind.

In all honesty, this is one of the most terrifying realizations that we as the older girl need to acknowledge.

Whether you are the older friend, sister, cousin, or even a mother, you must know that there are little eyes hungrily taking in everything you do. The way you walk, talk, breathe; everything. I have been completely taken aback by how strongly a younger girl can attach to even the slightest idea of an older girl she admires.

So what do we do? Do we live in constant paranoia that we could damage a child by our own fleshly ignorance? Do we skirt the attentions of these young ladies to avoid any sort of mistake?

It’s a hard truth to swallow, especially if you have been deceived by the lie that what you do cannot possibly affect another person. Truth is this- there are little eyes watching you, eager to learn from you. You are interesting, you are experienced, you are beautiful in these little eyes. There is an air about you when you talk (and how do you talk with such confidence?) that is so appealing. The things you are interested in seem so cool, so grown.

What can I do for the little eyes that watch me daily? I can walk circumspectly. That is, I think about the possible outcomes of what I am doing. If I say this, how will these ears be affected? How can my behavior be taken? Will a small heart grow heavy or light by an action that I have made?

This is a valuable way of living life regardless of gender or circumstance. We have an effect on those around us, sometimes stronger than we realize. When I am in a room of younger girls, I cannot be careless. These are tender hearts willing to receive any guidance I may have to give them. As you speak, really look at the ones around you. In my experience, there is usually an intensity in which a younger girl will listen. She is ready to hear and obtain the knowledge and thoughts that I have.

Not too long ago I was this young girl, wishing I could be half as cool as my older cousins. It did not occur to me that they felt lame, or uninteresting. I know that most of the time, I feel like I live such an arbitrary existence that cannot possibly persuade any interest. But in these little eyes… I have influence. And with this influence, I can invest.

Little eyes see that you have worth, and that you are so cool. You don’t have to be “grown” to be interesting. You are beautiful, smart, intriguing. You are a delight in the eyes of the Father. There is a destiny on your life. You are the you’est you that has ever you’ed.

I fail sometimes. Sometimes I am careless. But no longer am I oblivious to these little eyes.

Little eyes, I see you.

Leave a Reply

