Dear Future Husband

If I were to say that I hated Meghan Trainor’s song “Dear Future Husband”, I would be a bold-faced liar. It’s cute, it’s catchy. The problem with it, is that it’s selfish.

I’ve listened to the song and read the lyrics a few times, wishing that I could be on board with Meghan. I like her other songs, and I think she’s so talented. So this post isn’t really about bashing Meghan, because that’s totally not my heart. Honestly, the song has got me thinking about my own letter, my own “Dear Future Husband”…

So here it is.

Dear Future Husband,

First, I must say that I’ve prayed for you and over you. You are my dream, and one of my heart’s deepest desires. I have wondered what kind of person you are, what you’re like, and what dreams you have. I spend time thinking about you.

Whenever I find you, I want you to know that my interest is in you. Yes, I know that I will receive blessings from our marriage, and I am so excited about what it will bring. But my main objective is not to take, but to give to you. I don’t want a slave, but a servant’s heart. I want to serve you, to love you, to give you my time and affection. Your dreams and goals are important to me.

I will not make everything about me. I am not always right, and I will not resent you for keeping me accountable. I will cherish you for it. This is a partnership. I will work with you to further our walk with God and to help us grow as people. If we disagree, I will not allow my heart to harden towards you, but I will place myself in your shoes so I can understand you.

I will love your family as I love my own. I will not keep you from them, but I will join you in celebrating them and honoring them. Your mother will be my mother; your father, my father. I will respect and honor them as I have my own. I have no interest in creating division; in fact, I pray that there is a beautiful unity between our families, held together by the love of God and love for each other.

Anniversaries will not be stress-inducing events. We will celebrate our love and marriage together, and I will not expect you to pull off grand, momentous stunts to prove your love. I know you will love me right, because that’s the kind of person you’ll be.

Your love language is important to me. Tell me how you want to be loved. If you feel loved by encouraging words, I will lavish you in praise and kindness. If you feel loved by acts of service, I will go out of my way to ensure you feel appreciated. I will set aside my own flesh, and love you.

I will not lord my body over you as punishment or payment. I will respect your body, and love it. I will conduct myself with honor, and represent our home with purity, faithfulness, and honesty.

I will pray with you and for you, forever. Never will I stop caring. If I am unhappy in some way, I promise to talk with you, and communicate. I won’t take my problems and have them fulfilled by a counterfeit. You are my husband, my partner, my friend.

Dear future husband, I promise to give myself wholeheartedly, selflessly, and fully to you.

One thought on “Dear Future Husband

  1. Wow girl, very well said!! I want God to impart the wisdom of words and knowledge in me from you and your mother!! You guys are true blessings. This is great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

